NEW GUN LAWS IN ILLINOIS

PRIVATE FIREARM TRANSFERS IN ILLINOIS

A new state law, effective January 1, 2014, requires all private firearm transfers to be approved by the Illinois State Police. There is a waiting period - 24 hours for a rifle or shotgun, 72 hours for a handgun. The ISP will issue an approval number which is good for 30 days from the date of issue.

The ISP has set up a web site that is in operation 24/7 and has a phone number that you can use during normal business hours.

Web site: http://www.isp.state.il.us/foid/foidp2p.cfm

Phone number: 217-524-3847

Also, you must notify your local law enforcement within 72 hours of a lost or stolen firearm.

 

NEW LAWS FOR COOK COUNTY AND CITY OF CHICAGO

COOK COUNTY RESIDENTS:

You must notify the Cook County Sheriff's office within 48 hours of no longer having a firearm, regardless of the reason - transfer, lost, destroyed or stolen. There is a PDF form on the Sheriff's web site that you can download to report this.  Here is a link to that form.

CHICAGO RESIDENTS:

You must notify the Chicago PD within 48 hours for any disposition of a firearm.

GAT Guns - Dundee, Illinois - Firearms Dealer and Gun Ranges