PRIVATE FIREARM TRANSFERS IN ILLINOIS

A new state law, effective January 1, 2014

This law requires all private firearm transfers to be approved by the Illinois State Police.  There is a waiting period - 24 hours for a rifle or shotgun, 72 hours for a handgun.  The ISP will issue an approval number which is good for 30 days from the date of issue.

The ISP has set up a website which is in operation 24/7 and has a phone number that you can use during normal business hours.

Website:  Illinois State Police Firearms Services Bureau and then click on "Firearms Transfers" on the left side menu.

Phone number:  217-524-3847

Also, you must notify the law enforcement within 72 hours of a lost or stolen firearm.

NEW LAWS FOR COOK COUNTY AND CITY OF CHICAGO

COOK COUNTY:

You must notify the Sheriff within 48 hours of no longer having a firearm, regardless of the reason - transfer, lost, or stolen.  There is a PDF form on the Sheriff's web site that you can download and save for future use.

CHICAGO:

You must notify the Chicago PD within 48 hours for any disposition of a firearm.

 

GAT Guns - Dundee, Illinois - Firearms Dealer and Gun Ranges